You are here

Service Project

2017 Day of Service

SOUL Camp Staff is excited to partner with the UL Lafayette Office of Sustainability and the Office of Community Service for our 2017 Day of Service Project. Through their invaluable efforts in serving our community, our campers, staff and faculty mentors will perform service projects at many locations throughout Lafayette. Our 2017 SOUL Camp Day of Service Project locations are in the works right now. Below are the locations and faculty and staff volunteers from our 2016 Day of Service Projects.

2017 Service Site Locations

  • Acadiana Center for the Arts
  • Bayou Vermilion District
  • Boys & Girls Cluds of Acadiana
  • Broadmoor Elementary School
  • Carencro Middle School
  • Children's Museum of Acadiana
  • DesOrmeaux Foundation, Inc.
  • First Presbyterian Church
  • First United Methodist Church
  • Healing House
  • Hospice of Acadiana
  • Inner Faith Prison Ministries
  • Judice Middle School
  • J. W. Faulk Elementary School
  • L. J. Alleman Middle School
  • Lafayette Fire Department
  • Lafayette Habitat for Humanity
  • McComb-Veauxy Neighborhood Coterie
  • New Hope Community Development of Acadiana
  • Outreach Center for Women and Children
  • S. J. Montgomery Elementary School
  • Second Harvest Food Bank
  • St. Barnabas Episcopal Church
  • UL Lafayette Alumni Center
  • UL Lafayette Bioswale
  • UL Lafayette Intramural Fields
  • United Way of Acadiana
  • Volunteers of America - Acadiana Program

Common Reading Experience

A key component of the Day of Service Project will be a common reading that will help our students understand the importance of the work we will be doing.  All campers are expected to read Rethinking Volunteerism in America, a short piece that explains the important concept of service work in our communities.

Faculty & Staff Day of Service Mentors

Thank you to our 2017 Faculty and Staff Mentors!

  • Rachel Boguille - Academic Success Center
  • Tatum Broussard - Office of the VP for Research, Innovation, and Economic Development
  • Sonia Deville - Department of Dance
  • Ruben Henderson - Student Engagement & Leadership
  • Anna Hope - Office of the University Registrar
  • Nona Istre - Computer Science
  • Christy Keys - Office of Orientation
  • Lauren Landry - Major & Career Exploration Center
  • Heidie Lindsey - Student Engagement & Leadership
  • Lana Rodriguez - Academic Success Center
  • Dr. David Stevens - B. I . Moody III College of Business Administration
  • Dr. Jennifer Tetnowski - Communicative Disorders
  • Dr. John Tetnowski - Communicative Disorders
  • Brandon Turner - Student Rights and Responsibilities
  • Cheylon Woods - Ernest J. Gaines Center - Dupre Library